A Good Story – My Father, His Father, and a Glass of Sherry

I have recently grown very fond of drinking Cream Sherry. I have these little port glasses that I love to use and Cream Sherry has now become the drink of choice when it comes to reading, writing and just relaxing. I’ve been drinking it for half a year now.

My father came over the other day and I offered him a glass. He declined since he had to drive, but he told me a little tale about his youth. He told me whenever he would come back from doing his paper route, his father would offer him a small glass of sherry to warm up after being in the cold weather. It became a regular thing for the two of them to do it.

What a coincidence that I have become fond of the drink as of recent; something my father and I can share in now. He hasn’t really talked about his father before, and he died when I was four or five. But his spirit lives on through story telling, and now every time I have a glass of sherry, I’ll think about my grandfather.

Stories are our legacies – keep them alive!

One thought on “A Good Story – My Father, His Father, and a Glass of Sherry

Leave a Reply

